Sons o’ the Soil

Sons o’ the Soil were conceived in the dimly lit, whisky soaked Green Room of a Paddy Casey gig in Dublin. Bob & Gordy had been considering the possibilities of working together on a project for a while and the time seemed right. The intention was to create a sound which reflected the rock pedigree of the band and blend that with the traditional sound of their Celtic roots. The result was the first Sons o’ the Soil eponymous EP.

After a period of writing, seven tracks were laid down in The Old Mill studios, Crathes under the watchful ear of Niall Mathewson, who guested on bass for the recording. Gordy’s daughter Jo also supplied haunting vocal harmonies to the songs.

A second 10 track studio album titled Send in the Clowns was the next release followed by the album Back to our Roots, the latest work is the two track EP passionately written about Scotland’s struggle for Independence

Members of the band have recorded with a variety of artists over the years including Sinead O’Connor, Paddy Casey and Damien Dempsey.

SOTS are:

– Gordy Strathdee; Lead Vox, Guitar; Mandolin & Harmonica
– Bob Slorach; Guitar, Bouzouki, Mandolin & Vox
– Jo Strathdee Vox
– Amy Steele; Fiddle
– Dode Barbour ; Bass

…because, after all, we’re all Sons o’ the Soil

Follow Sons ‘o’ the soil

In association with Rossie Ross